The President of Ukraine Petro Poroshenko on may 24 approved a list of individuals and entities against which the Council of national security and defense on may 2 imposed sanctions. It includes the Russian payment system WebMoney and its marketplace exchange INDX, also working with cryptocurrencies (BTC, ETH, BCH, LTC, XRP, DASH, XMR, BTG).

The sanctions are directed against a number of companies associated with WebMoney, as well as those who are behind the stock exchange INDX: WM Transfer (Lithuania), “VMR” (Russia), “WebMoney.Ru” (Russia), “non-Bank credit organization “Network clearing house”” (Russia), “Computing power” (Russia), Webmоnеy Europe (UK) Amstar Holdings (Hong Kong), INDX Transactions (British virgin Islands), representative office in Ukraine “Financial company Elmi”, “VM-Factor”, “Paymaster” , “guarantee Agency” (all the latest Ukraine).

The sanctions involve blocking assets, limit trade operations, prevention of capital withdrawal from Ukraine, the suspension of the execution of economic and financial obligations, cancellation and suspension of licenses, the restriction on the provision of telecommunications services, the cessation of issuing permits for the import or export of currency from the country, as well as the prohibition of the National Bank to register these companies as participants of the international payment system.

In addition, now Internet service providers are prohibited from providing services to the systems and also give users the ability access affiliated with WebMoney 40 subdomains. At the moment the website does not work (reportedly for technical reasons), though yet available on the territory of Ukraine.

Earlier, in 2016, the national Bank of Ukraine has limited the activities of the Russian payment systems in the country, but then it mostly was the fact that banks were forbidden to serve them through the interfaces of their services. Although the ban applies to still she worked on the territory of Ukraine. It is unclear what will happen to the accounts of Ukrainians in the Russian payment systems.

The current limits are set for a period of three years from the date of publication of the decree of the President, that is until 24 may 2021. The press service of the NSDC in this time bound introduction of sanctions against “Russian aggression against Ukraine,” activities “representatives of the Russian occupation administration in Crimea” and similar reasons.

Only two of the sanctions list has 756 1748 physical and legal entities.