Cryptocurrency exchange BitMEX has updated the terms of use of the service and restricted access to the platform for a number of countries.

According to the updated rules, residents and citizens of the United States and Quebec (Canada) it is forbidden to use BitMEX in connection with the securities laws in those countries. In addition, the site is now also closed for users from Cuba, Crimea, Iran, Syria, North Korea and Iran.

“You are not permitted to access or use the Services or the Trading platform if You are registered or otherwise established in the territory of the following countries and if You are a citizen or resident of the following countries: United States of America, Quebec in Canada, Cuba, Sevastopol and the Crimea, Iran, Syria, North Korea or Sudan; any state, country or other jurisdiction embargoed the United States of America”, – stated in the updated document.

Another change concerns the rights of ownership to so-called “derivative works” created by users of the platform. Under the new rules, the parent company BitMEX HDR has the right to use these products for any purpose, including commercial.

This point raised many questions among members of the community, and then in BitMEX has clarified that they “do not collect, sell, trade and offer customer data to third parties.”

Guide to trade on Bitmex